Condo Insurance in Florida

Get a Quote

Whether occupied throughout the year or on a seasonal basis, your condo will need to be insured!

Regardless of how often you occupy your condo or even if you rent it out as an investment, you will need to insure your condo in the event of a loss or should you ever be found liable for property damage or bodily injury to a third party.

Intergroupe USA focuses on ensuring that you properly understand your coverage. A perusal of your policy paperwork and a quick call to our experts will set you in the right direction. We will happily provide you with a quote adapted to your specific situation and according to your unique needs.

The main types of coverage we might propose would be:

Condominium Unit – Dwelling

Covers permanent elements such as appliances and fixtures that are located within your unit and are under your responsibility per your Condo Association bylaws. This includes improvements and betterments and coverage is usually provided on a replacement cost basis according to the type of policy and the limits selected.

Personal Property

Covers your personal property and contents situated inside your home; e.g. clothing, and furniture. This coverage may be provided on a replacement cost basis or on an actual cash value basis. Should you have high value objects such as paintings, art pieces, jewels or fur, we will propose extra coverage in the form of an endorsement.

Loss of Use

Provides indemnity for additional living expenses, or loss of rent, if you temporarily are unable to live in or rent your unit following a covered loss.

Personal Liability

Such an important aspect of your residential insurance policy, this section covers bodily injury or property damage for which you are found legally liable. This coverage does not extend to the people living with you, and notes certain exclusions such as damage caused by the use of an automobile, or professional activities if no specific coverage is added.
Good to know: Your insurance will also cover your defense costs according to the conditions of the contract!

Medical Payments to Others

Regardless of liability, this section pays for reasonable and necessary medical expenses should someone be injured on your property. As with the civil liability section, this coverage does not cover persons living with you and has many of the same exclusions which are found in your policy wording and can be explained to you by our team.

Loss Assessment

Specifically for condominium owners’ policies, this section pays your contribution following a direct loss to the property owned collectively by all members when caused by a peril insured by your policy up to the predetermined limits.

What is covered?

Depending on your policy, losses by fire, lightning, vandalism, theft and hurricane can be covered.
Sinkhole loss coverage might be also available, as well as flood coverage.

Flood is a major risk in Florida even if your home is not located in a flood zone. You might consider adding these endorsements, especially if you are close to any body water.
The deductible may vary according to the risk involved.

Be sure to pay close attention to the exclusions in your contract as certain policies exclude hurricanes and others exclude theft. Each insurer has their form so let us help you choose what’s right for you!

Good to know

On the declarations page of your policy, you will find the list of your chosen coverage and the limits applicable.
Limits and exclusions may apply especially if your condo is unoccupied during the year of if you do not have any security or alarm in place.
We can help you navigate these uncertainties.

With Intergroupe USA,

Our team is bilingual French-English. Your quotes, contracts, premiums, and coverage will be explained to you in the language of your choice to enable you to fully understand your insurance.
ASK FOR A QUOTE
A question?
Contact us directly by phone

+1 786 618 5901

At Intergroupe USA,

Our team is bilingual French-English. Your quotes, contracts, premiums, and coverage will be explained to you in the language of your choice to allow you to fully understand your insurance.
ASK FOR A QUOTE
A question?
Contact us directly by phone

+1 786 618 5901

Condo 2018-01-18T15:15:55+00:00

L’assurance de votre CONDO en Floride

Soumission

Occupé à l’année ou de façon saisonnière, votre condo doit être assuré !

Qu’il s’agisse de votre résidence principale ou secondaire ou d’un condo que vous louez à des fins d’investissement, vous avez besoin d’assurance pour vous couvrir en cas de dommages mais aussi si votre responsabilité venait à être engagée.

Chez Intergroupe USA, nous mettons tout en œuvre pour que vous compreniez bien vos garanties ; Alors on vous propose un peu de lecture et surtout de nous contacter pour en savoir plus ou obtenir une soumission. En fonction de l’occupation de votre condo (de façon saisonnière ou à l’année, par vous-même ou pour la location) nous vous proposerons les garanties les mieux adaptées à votre situation. Les principales garanties qui vous seront proposées sont :

L’assurance de votre condo : « Condominium Unit – Dwelling »

Cette garantie couvre les aménagements intérieurs de votre condo, certains appareils électro-ménagers et tous les éléments fixés de façon permanente dans votre condo et qui sont sous votre responsabilité d’après les statuts de votre Association de copropriété. Cette garantie est généralement proposée en valeur à neuf.

Vos biens personnels : « Personal Property »

Cette garantie couvre vos biens personnels situés dans votre condo tels que vos meubles et vêtements et autres objets personnels. Cette garantie peut être proposée en valeur à neuf ou valeur actuelle. Si vous avez des objets de grande valeur tels que des oeuvres d’art ou tapis anciens ou bijoux, nous vous proposerons une garantie spécifique.

Perte d’usage ou Perte de revenus : « Loss of Use »

Cette garantie vous assure une indemnisation si votre condo était inhabitable ou impropre à la location pendant les réparations nécessitées par un dommage couvert par votre contrat.

Responsabilité civile : « Personal Liability »

Très important à avoir, cette garantie vous protège si vous êtes déclaré légalement responsable d’un accident entrainant des dommages corporels ou aux biens d’autrui. Cette garantie ne couvre pas les personnes de votre famille qui habitent avec vous, ni les dommages survenus en voiture ou les activités professionnelles conduites à votre domicile.

Bon à savoir : Votre assureur vous couvre également pour les frais judiciaires liés à la procédure (suivant les conditions prévues au contrat).

Frais médicaux : « Medical Payments to Others »

Vous rembourse les factures médicales « raisonnables » de personnes blessées sur votre propriété, sans notion de responsabilité civile (cad que cette garantie peut jouer, même si vous n’êtes pas déclaré responsable de l’accident). Comme pour la « liability », cette garantie ne couvre pas les personnes de votre famille qui habitent avec vous ni les dommages survenus en voiture ou les activités professionnelles conduites à votre domicile.

« Loss Assessment »

Une garantie très spécifique pour les propriétaires de condo qui vous permet d’être indemnisé si vous étiez appelé à contribuer financièrement à la remise en état des parties communes de votre condo suite à un sinistre couvert par votre contrat.

Ce qui est couvert dans votre contrat

Tout dépend de votre contrat ! Généralement, l’incendie, les éclairs, le vandalisme sont garantis MAIS attention à bien regarder spécifiquement votre contrat : certains excluent les ouragans, alors qu’il s’agit d’un risque majeur en Floride, d’autres vont exclure le vol…

Une garantie contre les glissements de terrain (sinkhole) et les inondations peut vous être proposée suivant le lieu de votre résidence. L’inondation est un risque majeur en Floride, même si votre résidence n’est pas dans une zone qualifiée d’inondable. Pensez-y, notamment si vous habitez à proximité d’un point d’eau, tel qu’un lac, canal, océan…

Bon à savoir : La franchise varie en fonction du risque garanti. 

Bon à savoir

Sur la page de votre contrat intitulée « Declarations page », vous trouverez les différentes garanties et le montant pour lesquels vous êtes couvert. Des limites et exclusions peuvent s’appliquer, notamment si votre maison est inoccupée pendant une partie de l’année ou si vous n’avez pas de système d’alarme.

Chez Intergroupe USA,

nous vous expliquons en détail et dans votre langue tout ce qui est dans votre contrat et tout ce qui n’y est pas. Pas de mauvaises surprises en cas de réclamations !
Demande de soumission

Une question particulière
Contactez nous directement par télephone

+1 786 618 5901

Chez Intergroupe USA,

nous vous expliquons en détail et dans votre langue tout ce qui est dans votre contrat et tout ce qui n’y est pas. Pas de mauvaises surprises en cas de réclamations !
Demande de soumission

Une question particulière
Contactez nous directement par télephone

+1 786 618 5901